Health Trust

WEST OTAGO HEALTH TRUST (WOHT) main objective is to maintain/look after the land & buildings owned by WOHT, well into the future on behalf of the West Otago Community.

Key Asset: Ribbonwood Aged Care Facility & Medical Centre Building located at 50 Tapanui-Raes Junction Highway 90, Tapanui.

Ribbonwood is owned by the people of West Otago via the West Otago Health Trust. The construction of the present premises has been an enormous community project for West Otago’s 2,300 residents that was concluded August 2014. The facility is a combined purpose facility which has Ribbonwood with rest home and hospital level care and the local Medical Centre. There is also an emergency helipad on site. All residents have prompt access to a Doctor and services provided in the Medical Centre.


Although the Ribbonwood facility is completed and operational, there remains many projects that are yet to be completed.  Some of them include:

  • Full upgrades to the Ribbonwood Cottages

  • Landscaping plans

  • Carport

  • Courtyard

  • Reinstall the Quin Memorial Gates



The Trust continues to seek grants, donations (monetary & livestock) and continues to fundraise, to enable the above projects to be completed.  As the key assets are community owned, volunteers for fundraising activities or project work will be gratefully received.  If you can assist with fundraising activities or project work please contact any one of the Trustees.



A major fundraiser for the Trust was the naming rights for various rooms  within the Ribbonwood Aged Care Facility and Medical Centre Building.  While a good uptake of sponsorship was undertaken, there remains some rooms available for naming rights.


If you are interested in sponsoring a room, for your business, family, please contact one of the  West Otago Heath Trustees.






Hans van Der Linden (Chairperson, 0273337072 ), Nicole Cronin (Secretary),  Debra McKenzie (Treasurer),  Michelle Kennedy, Charlie Davis, Will Byars (Stock Scheme), Fiona Hancox

Appointment of trustees replacing those that, may retire annually are made by the West Otago Community Board, who advertise locally for expressions of interest.   Tenure is 3 years.  At this point the Trustee may step down or be appointed for a further three years.